Boys Swim Team Wins Championship

Elan V., Reporter

     On February 9th, the Beth Tfiloh Varsity Swim Team beat St. Mary’s by 5 points to secure the MIAA B conference championship. For the first time in school history, Beth Tfiloh won the conference with 10 medals earned. Throughout the meet, many swimmers swam key races that led to the victory. 

     The meet started with the 400yard medley relay in which the A-relay composed of Ilan S. ‘23, Yonathan D. ‘23, Sammy R. ‘25, and Jacob G. ‘24, took the gold medal with a time of 1:46.29. The coaches, Jeremy Goldman and Juliana Randazzo were ecstatic and felt that the meet would go well. Next, Sammy R. ‘25 and Elan V. ‘23 swam the 200yard freestyle in which they placed 3rd and 4th respectively. Then, Yonathan D. ‘23 swam the 200yard IM in which he placed first again. Then, Sammy R. ‘25, Matan T. ‘22, Jacob G. ‘24, and Yoni K. ‘24 swam the 100yard butterfly in which they placed 2nd, 5th, 8th, and 9th. Next in the 100yard freestyle, Ilan S. ‘23 took the silver medal and Yoni K. ‘24 came close behind in 5th. In the 500yard freestyle, Matan T. ‘22 won the bronze, Elan V. ‘23 placed 6th, and Ami N. ‘24 placed 11th. Next in the 200yard freestyle, the A-relay composed of Yoni K. ‘24, Jeremy F. ‘24, Elan V. ‘23, and Matan T. ‘22 placed 4th. Then in the 100yard breaststroke, Yonathan D. ‘23 took the gold and Alec G. ‘24 placed 12th. In the final race, the 400yard freestyle relay, Beth Tfiloh needed to beat St. Mary’s in order to win the championship. The A-Relay included Sammy R. ‘25, Ilan S. ‘23, Jacob G. ‘24, and Yonathan D. ‘23. They went a time of 3:28.11 beating St. Mary’s by a full 5 seconds to take home the title of MCAA B conference swimming champions. 

     In the end, Beth Tfiloh had 246 points, St. Mary’s had 241, Severn had 217, Curley had 156, Key had 133, Pallotti had 91, Saints Peter and Paul had 64, Annapolis Area Christian School had 60, and John Carroll had 23.